Each year during the Annual Meeting, the European Society of Hypertension honors physicians for their outstanding achievements and scientific research in the field of hypertension. The ESH Awards Committee encourages you to nominate a colleague for the 2024 awards listed below.

Björn Folkow Award and Lecture

This is awarded to a person or persons who have carried out original research in physiology that has contributed to the understanding of pathogenesis of hypertension.

Alberto Zanchetti Life Achievement Award

The award is conferred to a scientist with a life-long, high-quality career in scientific research in the field of hypertension.

ESH Honorary Membership

Honorary membership is granted to a scientist who has made extraordinary contributions to research in hypertension or who has given exceptionally important support to the activities of the Society.

The letter of nomination for each award should address the evaluation criteria for the award, including significant contributions and achievements made by the nominee. The letter should confirm the nominee has agreed to be nominated and is a member of the ESH. Furthermore, it should include the nominee’s CV and current contact details.

The deadline for nominations is March 15, 2024. Nominations should be sent by email to Mandy Elgner, ESH Coordinator:

The ESH Awards Committee will evaluate and make sure the nominations meet all criteria and select the Award winners.

To review previous ESH Award winners, please see the list on our website.

We appreciate your contributions.

With kind regards


Prof. Guido Grassi                                          Prof. Thomas Weber

ESH President                                                                 ESH Secretary