

### **Annual Working Group Report Form**

(To be submitted to ESH WG Coordinator before 15<sup>th</sup> December)

Year/time period of report: 01-2021 – 12-2021 Name of Working Group: ESH Working Group on Large Arteries Name of Working Group Section (if applicable): -

#### Composition of Working Group

Chair: Bart Spronck <u>b.spronck@maastrichtuniversity.nl</u>, appointed in 2019, born in 1987
Vice-Chair: Rosa Maria Bruno, <u>rosa-maria.bruno@inserm.fr</u>, appointed in 2021, born in 1979
Secretary: Rosa Maria Bruno, <u>rosa-maria.bruno@inserm.fr</u>, appointed in 2019, born in 1979

#### **Working Group Members**

Current number of members: 28\*

New members approved this year: 3

- Antonio Gallo, antoniogallo.md@gmail.com, born in 1985
- Yusuf Ziya Şener, <u>yzsener@yahoo.com.tr</u>, born in 1988 Eduardo Podjarny, Israel, epodjarny@gmail.com

\*we also keep a list of *associated peers* (n=53). These are interested in our work and regularly attend our meetings, but are not ESH members and, hence, formally do not count as Working Group members.

#### Activities of the year

Publications on behalf of the Working GroupPublished this year:In preparation:2022 Guidelines for Validation of Non-invasive Arterial Pulse Wave<br/>Velocity Measurement Devices

Meetings organized/planned this year: - (for ISH-ESH 2021 and ESH 2022: see below)

Participation to ESH-ISH 2021, online:

- Session: Defining a novel approach for validation of new devices for arterial stiffness measurement
- Workshop: Technological advances from large to small arteries and usefulness in hypertension (joint session with the Working Group on Small Arteries)



Four proposed sessions for ESH 2022, Athens (full proposal in appendix):

- Breaking news from the ESH Working Group on Large Arteries
- David and Goliath: a Joint Session of the ESH Working Groups on Small and Large Arteries
- Importance of Measuring Vascular Ageing Clinical Case Studies
- COVID-19

#### Scientific projects

Completed this year: -

Ongoing:

- Updating the 2022 Guidelines for Validation of Non-invasive Arterial Pulse Wave Velocity Measurement Devices
- Collaboration with COST action VascAgeNet

In planning for next year:

- Consensus document on assessment of hypertensive vascular damage Involving:
  - ESH WG on Large Arteries
  - ARTERY Society
  - ESC Council of Hypertension
  - ESC WG on Aorta and Peripheral Vascular Diseases
  - European Association of Preventive Cardiology

#### **Educational projects**

Completed this year:-Ongoing:Collaboration with COST action VascAgeNet<br/>(education/promotion about vascular ageing)

In planning for next year: -

#### **Collaborations with other WGs/Scientific Societies:**

ESH Working Group on Small Arteries: Joint sessions at ESH-ISH 2021 and ESH 2022 (proposed)

#### Other remarks: -



### Filled by (full name): Bart Spronck Date: 10/01/2022

#### Appendix:

- 1. Full board composition
- 2. List of proposed sessions for ESH 2022
- 3. List of all current WG members incl. full name, e-mail and year of birth if available.

# ESH Working Group on Large Arteries

Full board composition

- Chair: Bart Spronck, b.spronck@maastrichtuniversity.nl, born in 1987
- Vice-Chair: Rosa Maria Bruno, rosa-maria.bruno@inserm.fr, born in 1979
- Secretary: Rosa Maria Bruno, rosa-maria.bruno@inserm.fr, born in 1979
- Board member: Dimitrios Terentes-Printzios, dterentes@gmail.com, born in 1982

## ESH Working Group on Large Arteries

Membership as of 10 January 2022

First name	Surname	Email Address	Year of birth
Mohsen	Agharazii	mohsen.agharazii@crhdq.ulaval.ca	1969
Antonios	Argyris	and1dr@gmail.com	1984
Rosa Maria	Bruno	rosa-maria.bruno@inserm.fr	1979
Pedro	Cunha	pedrocunha@med.uminho.pt	1974
Antonio	Gallo	antoniogallo.md@gmail.com	1985
Alun	Hughes	alun.hughes@ucl.ac.uk	1959
Fran	Kirkham	f.kirkham@nhs.net	1985
Stephane	Laurent	stephane.laurent@egp.aphp.fr	1953
Alessandro	Maloberti	a.maloberti@campus.unimib.it	1985
Diego	Mendo	diego.s.mendo@gmail.com	1977
Jose	Mesquita Bastos	mesquitabastos@gmail.com	1959
José	Milei	josemilei@gmail.com	1900
Maria Lorenza	Muiesan	marialorenza.muiesan@unibs.it	1955
Krzysztof	Narkiewicz	knark@gumed.edu.pl	1962
Michael Hecht	Olsen	mho@dadInet.dk	1966
Athanase	Protogerou	aprotog@med.uoa.gr	1900
Giacomo	Pucci	giacomo.pucci@unipg.it	1900
Chakravarthi	Rajkumar	raj.rajkumar@nhs.net	1958
Damiano	Rizzoni	damiano.rizzoni@unibs.it	1960
Enrique	Rodilla	enrique.rodilla@uchceu.es	1962
Massimo	Salvetti	massimo.salvetti@unibs.it	1900
Yusuf Ziya	Şener	yzsener@yahoo.com.tr	1988
Bart	Spronck	b.spronck@maastrichtuniversity.nl	1987
Harry	Struijker-Boudier	h.struijkerboudier@maastrichtuniversity.nl	1950
	Terentes-		
Dimitrios	Printzios	dterentes@gmail.com	1982
Areti	Triantafyllou	artriant@auth.gr	1979
Thomas	Weber	thomas.weber3@liwest.at	1964
Luca	Zanoli	zanoli.rastelli@gmail.com	1977
Eduardo	Podjarny	epodjarny@gmail.com	